“Where I’m From” Poem

I am from a small country town
From calm streams and wooded land
I am from the land of y’all and ain’t
My tongue differs from others around me
Although I’m a tiger in a horse stable
The stallions are my companions

I am from homemade country meals
Biscuits and sweet tea are items every household need
I am from where the Sabbath is a holy day
Where our God is an awesome God
Although no one is perfect
I am from the land of the righteous

I am from the land of Nam
Where my ancestors have fought for freedom
Although my family is in the land of the free
We still keep our beloved heritage
I am from the Lunar year
Tet is the day my race celebrate all over the world
I am from the land of the unforgotten

Leave a Reply

